Amsterdam Bourbon Street Music Club

Live Music

7 NIGHTS A WEEK

november 2019

Toon:
Fri 1 Nov 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Sat 2 Nov 2019
22:00 - 05:00
Sun 3 Nov 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Mon 4 Nov 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Tue 5 Nov 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Wed 6 Nov 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Thu 7 Nov 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Fri 8 Nov 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Sat 9 Nov 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Sun 10 Nov 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Mon 11 Nov 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Tue 12 Nov 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Wed 13 Nov 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Thu 14 Nov 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Fri 15 Nov 2019
22:00 - 05:00
Sat 16 Nov 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Sun 17 Nov 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Mon 18 Nov 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Tue 19 Nov 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Wed 20 Nov 2019
22:00 - 04:00
Thu 21 Nov 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Fri 22 Nov 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Sat 23 Nov 2019
22:00 - 05:00
Sun 24 Nov 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Mon 25 Nov 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Tue 26 Nov 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Wed 27 Nov 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Thu 28 Nov 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Fri 29 Nov 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Sat 30 Nov 2019
00:00 - 01:00

Folk

Folk music includes both traditional music and the genre that evolved from it during the 20th century folk revival. The term originated in the 19th century but is often applied to music that is older than that. Some types of folk music are also called world music.

Traditional folk music has been defined in several ways: as music transmitted by mouth, as music of the lower classes, and as music with unknown composers. It has been contrasted with commercial and classical styles. One meaning often given is that of old songs, with no known composers; another is music that has been transmitted and evolved by a process of oral transmission or performed by custom over a long period of time.

Starting in the mid-20th century a new form of popular folk music evolved from traditional folk music. This process and period is called the (second) folk revival and reached a zenith in the 1960s. This form of music is sometimes calledcontemporary folk music or folk revival music to distinguish it from earlier folk forms.[1] Smaller similar revivals have occurred elsewhere in the world at other times, but the term folk music has typically not been applied to the new music created during those revivals. This type of folk music also includes fusion genres such as folk rockfolk metalelectric folk, and others. While contemporary folk music is a genre generally distinct from traditional folk music, in English it shares the same name, and it often shares the same performers and venues as traditional folk music. Even individual songs may be a blend of the two.

Copyright 2010 | Bourbon Street live music club | Leidsekruisstraat 6-8 | 1017 RH | Amsterdam | The Netherlands - Contact | Live muziek Amsterdam