Amsterdam Bourbon Street Music Club

Live Music

7 NIGHTS A WEEK

June 2019

Toon:
Sat 1 Jun 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Sun 2 Jun 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Mon 3 Jun 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Tue 4 Jun 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Wed 5 Jun 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Thu 6 Jun 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Fri 7 Jun 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Sat 8 Jun 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Sun 9 Jun 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Mon 10 Jun 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Tue 11 Jun 2019
22:00 - 04:00
Wed 12 Jun 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Thu 13 Jun 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Fri 14 Jun 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Sat 15 Jun 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Sun 16 Jun 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Mon 17 Jun 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Tue 18 Jun 2019
22:00 - 04:00
Wed 19 Jun 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Thu 20 Jun 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Fri 21 Jun 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Sat 22 Jun 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Sun 23 Jun 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Mon 24 Jun 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Tue 25 Jun 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Wed 26 Jun 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Thu 27 Jun 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Fri 28 Jun 2019
22:00 - 05:00
Sat 29 Jun 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Sun 30 Jun 2019
22:00 - 04:00

Folk

Folk music includes both traditional music and the genre that evolved from it during the 20th century folk revival. The term originated in the 19th century but is often applied to music that is older than that. Some types of folk music are also called world music.

Traditional folk music has been defined in several ways: as music transmitted by mouth, as music of the lower classes, and as music with unknown composers. It has been contrasted with commercial and classical styles. One meaning often given is that of old songs, with no known composers; another is music that has been transmitted and evolved by a process of oral transmission or performed by custom over a long period of time.

Starting in the mid-20th century a new form of popular folk music evolved from traditional folk music. This process and period is called the (second) folk revival and reached a zenith in the 1960s. This form of music is sometimes calledcontemporary folk music or folk revival music to distinguish it from earlier folk forms.[1] Smaller similar revivals have occurred elsewhere in the world at other times, but the term folk music has typically not been applied to the new music created during those revivals. This type of folk music also includes fusion genres such as folk rockfolk metalelectric folk, and others. While contemporary folk music is a genre generally distinct from traditional folk music, in English it shares the same name, and it often shares the same performers and venues as traditional folk music. Even individual songs may be a blend of the two.

Copyright 2010 | Bourbon Street live music club | Leidsekruisstraat 6-8 | 1017 RH | Amsterdam | The Netherlands - Contact | Live music Amsterdam