Amsterdam Bourbon Street Music Club

Live Music

7 NIGHTS A WEEK

August 2019

Toon:
Thu 1 Aug 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Fri 2 Aug 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Sat 3 Aug 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Sun 4 Aug 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Mon 5 Aug 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Tue 6 Aug 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Wed 7 Aug 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Thu 8 Aug 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Fri 9 Aug 2019
22:00 - 05:00
Sat 10 Aug 2019
22:00 - 05:00
Sun 11 Aug 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Mon 12 Aug 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Tue 13 Aug 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Wed 14 Aug 2019
22:00 - 04:00
Thu 15 Aug 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Fri 16 Aug 2019
22:00 - 05:00
Sat 17 Aug 2019
22:00 - 05:00
Sun 18 Aug 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Mon 19 Aug 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Tue 20 Aug 2019
22:00 - 04:00
Wed 21 Aug 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Thu 22 Aug 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Fri 23 Aug 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Sat 24 Aug 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Sun 25 Aug 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Mon 26 Aug 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Tue 27 Aug 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Wed 28 Aug 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Thu 29 Aug 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Fri 30 Aug 2019
00:00 - 01:00
Sat 31 Aug 2019
00:00 - 01:00

Folk

Folk music includes both traditional music and the genre that evolved from it during the 20th century folk revival. The term originated in the 19th century but is often applied to music that is older than that. Some types of folk music are also called world music.

Traditional folk music has been defined in several ways: as music transmitted by mouth, as music of the lower classes, and as music with unknown composers. It has been contrasted with commercial and classical styles. One meaning often given is that of old songs, with no known composers; another is music that has been transmitted and evolved by a process of oral transmission or performed by custom over a long period of time.

Starting in the mid-20th century a new form of popular folk music evolved from traditional folk music. This process and period is called the (second) folk revival and reached a zenith in the 1960s. This form of music is sometimes calledcontemporary folk music or folk revival music to distinguish it from earlier folk forms.[1] Smaller similar revivals have occurred elsewhere in the world at other times, but the term folk music has typically not been applied to the new music created during those revivals. This type of folk music also includes fusion genres such as folk rockfolk metalelectric folk, and others. While contemporary folk music is a genre generally distinct from traditional folk music, in English it shares the same name, and it often shares the same performers and venues as traditional folk music. Even individual songs may be a blend of the two.

Copyright 2010 | Bourbon Street live music club | Leidsekruisstraat 6-8 | 1017 RH | Amsterdam | The Netherlands - Contact | Live music Amsterdam